Judicial Academy

The Judicial Academy of the Slovak Republic is an independent educational institution with nationwide coverage that ensures, organizes and executes the training of judges, prosecutors and court officials. It was established under Act No. 548/2003 coll., as an independent legal entity, which is a budgetary organisation of the Ministry of Justice of the Slovak Republic and manages funds specifically allocated in the state budget for the purposes of the education of its target groups.

The administrative seat of the Academy is located in Pezinok, where also educational events, mainly at a regional level are organized. The majority of the educational activities are hosted in the Detached Centre of the Judicial Academy in Omšenie, close to Trenčianske Teplice. It houses approximately 60 educational activities annually, from 2-day to 1-week training sessions. The training costs are paid by the Judicial Academy of the Slovak Republic.
In addition to organizing the lifelong training of judges, prosecutors and court officials, the Academy prepares and subsequently verifies the professional knowledge and assumptions of future judges, future prosecutors and higher court officials necessary for the exercise of the position of a judge or a prosecutor by organizing a professional judicial examination.

The Judicial Academy of the Slovak Republic ensures education by means of the pedagogical staff according to the approved annual academic plan. The pedagogical staff comprises heads of departments (permanently working at the Academy) and external members (judges, prosecutors and experts from academia chosen by the board). The Academy currently comprises two departments of law:

• Department of Public Law
• Department of Private Law

The bodies of the Academy are the board and the director.

The Board of the Academy is the supreme body which manages the educational activities of the Academy from the professional point of view, approves the draft budget of the Academy, proposes a candidate on the position of the Director to the Minister and elects chairmen and members of Examination Boards for the purposes of professional judicial examination. The Board has ten members. The Director is the statutory body of the Academy, nominated to five-year term and removed by the Minister of Justice upon proposal of the Board.

The Director especially submits to the Board a draft annual academic plan and an annual report on the Academy activities; he also submits to the Minister a draft budget approved by the board and appoints and removes the Deputy Director.

In the framework of its international activities, the Academy has developed intense foreign activities, particularly in cooperation with the European Judicial Training Network, Lisbon Network and European Academy of Law. In 2007 and 2008, the Judicial Academy of the Slovak Republic initiated bilateral cooperation with partners within the Visegrad Four countries and signed bilateral agreements on international cooperation with the Polish National School of Judiciary and Public Prosecution, Judicial Academy of the Hungarian Republic, Judicial Academy of the Czech Republic and in October 2009 with the French National School for Judiciary.

Centre of the Judicial Academy in Omšenie:

General information on and Annual Activity Reports of the Judicial Academy: 


  • Austria
    • Federal Ministry of Justice
  • Belgium
    • Judicial Training Institute
  • Bulgaria
    • National Institute of Justice
  • Croatia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Cyprus
    • Judicial Training School
  • Czechia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Denmark
    • Court Administration
  • Estonia
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
    • Supreme Court
  • Finland
    • National Courts Administration
    • National Prosecution Authority
  • France
    • National School for the Judiciary
  • Germany
    • Federal Ministry of Justice
    • Academy of European Law (ERA)
  • Greece
    • National School of the Judiciary
  • Hungary
    • National Office for the Judiciary
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Ireland
    • The Judicial Council
  • Italy
    • School for the Judiciary
    • High Council of the Judiciary
  • Latvia
    • Latvian Judicial Training Centre
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Lithuania
    • National Courts Administration
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Luxembourg
    • National Council of Justice
  • Malta
    • Judicial Studies Committee
  • Netherlands
    • Training and Study Centre for the Judiciary
  • Poland
    • National School of Judiciary and Public Prosecution
  • Portugal
    • Centre for Judicial Studies
  • Romania
    • National Institute of Magistracy
  • Slovakia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Slovenia
    • Judicial Training Centre
  • Spain
    • Centre for Legal Studies
    • Judicial School
  • Sweden
    • Judicial Training Academy
    • Swedish Prosecution Authority