Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of Estonia started to organize judicial training in 2009, after the liquidation of the Estonian Law Centre Foundation, which had been responsible for judicial training since 1995.

The judicial training activities are coordinated by the Training Council, which is comprised of nine members, including judges from county and district courts and the Supreme Court, representative of the Ministry of Justice, Office of Prosecutor General, and University of Tartu. The Training Council is elected in every three years by the Court en banc that is comprised of all Estonian judges. The ministry, prosecutor’s office, and the university appoint their representatives themselves. Support services to the Training Council are provided by the Supreme Court. More specifically, by the judicial training department, where, at present, six people are employed.

The training activities and the structure of the judicial training department are structured according to the fields of law and the specialisation of the judges: criminal, civil, and administrative law.

Taking into consideration the training needs of judges and the state budget funds allocated for the training of judges, the Training Council approves the training program no later than 1 October. In November, the judicial training department informs all the judges of the annual training program, after which the judges can register for the events online. The trainings organized by the Supreme Court are primarily meant for judges and their law clerks, and various training methods, such as lectures, seminars, roundtables, e-courses, case studies, and other types of trainings are used. Trainers are selected from among experienced judges or prosecutors, university teachers, attorneys, or other legal practitioners.

During the first three years of work, participation in trainings is mandatory for judges. After that period, it is voluntary.


  • Austria
    • Federal Ministry of Justice
  • Belgium
    • Judicial Training Institute
  • Bulgaria
    • National Institute of Justice
  • Croatia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Cyprus
    • Judicial Training School
  • Czechia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Denmark
    • Court Administration
  • Estonia
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
    • Supreme Court
  • Finland
    • National Courts Administration
    • National Prosecution Authority
  • France
    • National School for the Judiciary
  • Germany
    • Federal Ministry of Justice
    • Academy of European Law (ERA)
  • Greece
    • National School of the Judiciary
  • Hungary
    • National Office for the Judiciary
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Ireland
    • The Judicial Council
  • Italy
    • School for the Judiciary
    • High Council of the Judiciary
  • Latvia
    • Latvian Judicial Training Centre
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Lithuania
    • National Courts Administration
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Luxembourg
    • National Council of Justice
  • Malta
    • Judicial Studies Committee
  • Netherlands
    • Training and Study Centre for the Judiciary
  • Poland
    • National School of Judiciary and Public Prosecution
  • Portugal
    • Centre for Judicial Studies
  • Romania
    • National Institute of Magistracy
  • Slovakia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Slovenia
    • Judicial Training Centre
  • Spain
    • Centre for Legal Studies
    • Judicial School
  • Sweden
    • Judicial Training Academy
    • Swedish Prosecution Authority