Supreme Court of Estonia Kerdi Raud, Head of Department Department of legal information and judicial training

The Supreme Court of Estonia started to organize judicial training in 2009, after the liquidation of Estonian Law Center Foundation, which had been responsible for judicial training since 1995.

The judicial training activities are coordinated by the Judicial Training Council, which 9 members include judges from county and district courts and the Supreme Court, representative of the Ministry of Justice, State Prosecutors office and University of Tartu. The judges to the judicial training department are elected every 3 years by the Court en banc that is comprised of all Estonian judges. The ministry, State prosecutor’s office and the university appoint their representatives themselves. Support services shall be provided to the Training Council by the Supreme Court.

The training activities and the structure of the judicial training department are structured according to the fields of law and the specialisation of the judges: criminal, civil and administrative law.

Every December the judicial training department informs all the judges of the annual training program, after which the judges can register for the events online. As a general rule, there are no limits on the number of judges who can participate. The trainings organized by the Supreme Court are primarily meant for judges and their legal consultants. In case there are vacancies, also the prosecutors, civil servants from the Ministry of Justice and from the Office of the Chancellor of Justice may participate in the training events. The training events are mostly lectures, but also seminars, roundtables and other types of trainings may be used.

At present, seven people are employed in the judicial training department. The judicial training department does not employ trainers, but for every course, trainers are selected from among experienced judges or prosecutors, university teachers, attorneys or other legal practitioners.


  • Austria
    • Federal Ministry of Justice – Bundesministerium für Justiz
  • Belgium
    • L’Institut de formation judiciaire (IFJ-IGO)
  • Bulgaria
    • National Institute of Justice
  • Croatia
    • The Judicial Academy of Croatia
  • Cyprus
    • Supreme Court of Cyprus
  • Czechia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Denmark
    • Court Administration / Domstolsstyrelsen
  • Estonia
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
    • Supreme Court of Estonia, Training Department
  • Finland
    • The National Courts Administration
    • National Prosecution Authority, The Office of the Prosecutor General
  • France
    • The French National School for the Judiciary
  • Germany
    • Academy of European Law (ERA)
    • Federal Ministry of Justice - Bundesministerium der Justiz
  • Greece
    • National School of the Judiciary
  • Hungary
    • National Office for the Judiciary
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Ireland
    • The Judicial Studies Committee
  • Italy
    • Scuola Superiore della Magistratura
    • Consiglio Superiore della Magistratura
  • Latvia
    • Latvian Judicial Training Centre
    • The Prosecutor General’s Office of the Republic of Latvia
  • Lithuania
    • National Courts Administration
    • Office of the Prosecutor General of the Republic of Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
    • Parquet général
  • Malta
    • Judicial Studies Committee
  • Netherlands
    • Studiecentrum Rechtspleging
  • Poland
    • National School of Judiciary and Public Prosecution
  • Portugal
    • Centre For Judicial Studies
  • Romania
    • National Institute of Magistracy
  • Slovak Republic
    • Judicial Academy of the Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
    • Ministry of Justice of the Republic of Slovenia Judicial Training Centre
  • Spain
    • Centro de Estudios Jurídicos
    • Escuela Judicial Consejo General del Poder Judicial
  • Sweden
    • Judicial Training Academy
    • Swedish Prosecution Authority