Judicial Studies Committee

The Maltese Judicial Studies Committee (JSC) was established in 2003 as the body responsible for the initial and continuous judicial training of the members of the judiciary, namely magistrates and judges. It assists them in skills training and continued professional development mainly through seminars it organises in Malta.

The JSC also facilitates the participation of members of the judiciary in training events organised abroad by the EJTN, ERA and other institutions. The JSC, composed of four members, two appointed by the Chief Justice and two members appointed by the Minister responsible for justice, acts under the general direction of the Chief Justice.

Judge Joseph David Camilleri was the first chairman of the JSC, and he is still its chairman. The Vice-Chairman is Mr Justice Giannino Caruana Demajo, who succeeded Magistrate (now Mr Justice) Silvio Meli.  Dr Danielle Pace Grima is the Training Administrator.

The JSC has the following objectives:

  • Identifies the training needs of members of the judiciary;
  • Organises induction courses for new members of the judiciary;
  • Povides training for members of the judiciary;
  • Organises lectures, seminars, courses and similar events for members of the judiciary;
  • Informs members of the judiciary of recent legal developments through the use of information technology;
  • Issues updated papers on aspects of judicial work; and,
  • Promotes international co-operation in matters touching upon judicial training

The JSC has been an active member of EJTN for many years and has taken part in some of its working groups as well as in other training projects administered by EJTN.


  • Austria
    • Federal Ministry of Justice – Bundesministerium für Justiz
  • Belgium
    • L’Institut de formation judiciaire (IFJ-IGO)
  • Bulgaria
    • National Institute of Justice
  • Croatia
    • The Judicial Academy of Croatia
  • Cyprus
    • Supreme Court of Cyprus
  • Czechia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Denmark
    • Court Administration / Domstolsstyrelsen
  • Estonia
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
    • Supreme Court of Estonia, Training Department
  • Finland
    • The National Courts Administration
    • National Prosecution Authority, The Office of the Prosecutor General
  • France
    • The French National School for the Judiciary
  • Germany
    • Academy of European Law (ERA)
    • Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection - Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz
  • Greece
    • National School of the Judiciary
  • Hungary
    • National Office for the Judiciary
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Ireland
    • The Judicial Studies Committee
  • Italy
    • Scuola Superiore della Magistratura
    • Consiglio Superiore della Magistratura
  • Latvia
    • Latvian Judicial Training Centre
    • The Prosecutor General’s Office of the Republic of Latvia
  • Lithuania
    • National Courts Administration
    • Office of the Prosecutor General of the Republic of Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
    • Parquet général
  • Malta
    • Judicial Studies Committee
  • Netherlands
    • Studiecentrum Rechtspleging
  • Poland
    • National School of Judiciary and Public Prosecution
  • Portugal
    • Centre For Judicial Studies
  • Romania
    • National Institute of Magistracy
  • Slovak Republic
    • Judicial Academy of the Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
    • Ministry of Justice of the Republic of Slovenia Judicial Training Centre
  • Spain
    • Centro de Estudios Jurídicos
    • Escuela Judicial Consejo General del Poder Judicial
  • Sweden
    • Judicial Training Academy
    • Swedish Prosecution Authority