Judicial Academy

The Judicial Academy was established in 2004 as an institute within the Ministry of justice in charge of initial and continuous judicial training. It obtained the status of a public institution independent of the Ministry of Justice with the entering into force of the Judicial Academy Act on 1 January 2010.

The Croatian Judicial Academy is the central national judicial training institution in charge of the following:

  • Judicial training of trainees in judicial bodies (as a preparation for the Bar Exam);
  • Initial training of future judges and state attorneys (i.e. attendants of the State School for Judicial Officials which is an integral part of the Judicial Academy);
  • Continuous judicial training of judges and state attorneys;
  • Judicial training of judicial advisors; and
  • Judicial training of civil servants in the judiciary.

Other activities of the Academy include international cooperation and projects. In addition to the trainings held at its headquarters in Zagreb, the Academy organizes training activities in its regional centres located at the county courts (second-instance courts) of Split, Rijeka, Osijek and Varaždin.

The Academy is governed by the Steering Committee, composed of 9 members (i.e. judges and state attorneys of the highest levels of the judiciary, law professors and a representative of the Judicial Academy staff). The Steering Committee makes all the strategic decisions on the functioning of the Academy. The Programme Council is the expert body of the Judicial Academy in charge of adopting the annual Judicial Training Programme. It is constituted of 12 members (judges, state attorneys and law professors). The Academy is managed by the Director assisted by two advisors (i.e. a judge and a state attorney seconded to the Judicial Academy).


  • Andrea Posavec Franić, Director
  • Nella Popović, Head of International Cooperation and Projects Department
  • Jelena Tepić, Senior Advisor, International Cooperation and Projects Department


  • Austria
    • Federal Ministry of Justice – Bundesministerium für Justiz
  • Belgium
    • L’Institut de formation judiciaire (IFJ-IGO)
  • Bulgaria
    • National Institute of Justice
  • Croatia
    • The Judicial Academy of Croatia
  • Cyprus
    • Supreme Court of Cyprus
  • Czechia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Denmark
    • Court Administration / Domstolsstyrelsen
  • Estonia
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
    • Supreme Court of Estonia, Training Department
  • Finland
    • The National Courts Administration
    • National Prosecution Authority, The Office of the Prosecutor General
  • France
    • The French National School for the Judiciary
  • Germany
    • Academy of European Law (ERA)
    • Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection - Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz
  • Greece
    • National School of the Judiciary
  • Hungary
    • National Office for the Judiciary
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Ireland
    • The Judicial Studies Committee
  • Italy
    • Scuola Superiore della Magistratura
    • Consiglio Superiore della Magistratura
  • Latvia
    • Latvian Judicial Training Centre
    • The Prosecutor General’s Office of the Republic of Latvia
  • Lithuania
    • National Courts Administration
    • Office of the Prosecutor General of the Republic of Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
    • Parquet général
  • Malta
    • Judicial Studies Committee
  • Netherlands
    • Studiecentrum Rechtspleging
  • Poland
    • National School of Judiciary and Public Prosecution
  • Portugal
    • Centre For Judicial Studies
  • Romania
    • National Institute of Magistracy
  • Slovak Republic
    • Judicial Academy of the Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
    • Ministry of Justice of the Republic of Slovenia Judicial Training Centre
  • Spain
    • Centro de Estudios Jurídicos
    • Escuela Judicial Consejo General del Poder Judicial
  • Sweden
    • Judicial Training Academy
    • Swedish Prosecution Authority