Federal Ministry of Justice

In Austria, the continuous training of judges, prosecutors, and court staff is based on a balanced system of decentralized and centralized training modules designed by the judiciary.

Various judicial authorities are engaged in training matters: The Presidents of the four Courts of Appeal (Vienna, Graz, Linz and Innsbruck), the Association of Austrian Judges and the Association of Austrian Prosecutors, with its expert groups in specific law areas, the Public Prosecutors’ Offices at the four Courts of Appeal and the Federal Ministry of Justice annually create and organize a wide variety of training activities, ranging from seminars via conferences to symposia and even certificated training courses for judges and public prosecutors.

Within the Federal Ministry of Justice, the Department of Human Resource Development is responsible for the training of judges and public prosecutors. The annual training programme is available on the homepage of the judiciary.

Additionally, Austrian judges and public prosecutors profit from external training programmes offered by the partners of the Federal Ministry of Justice such as the European Judicial Training Network.

In 2023, 456 different training activities were open to the participation of 1.961 Austrian judges and 465 public prosecutors and court staff.


  • Austria
    • Federal Ministry of Justice
  • Belgium
    • Judicial Training Institute
  • Bulgaria
    • National Institute of Justice
  • Croatia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Cyprus
    • Judicial Training School
  • Czechia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Denmark
    • Court Administration
  • Estonia
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
    • Supreme Court
  • Finland
    • National Courts Administration
    • National Prosecution Authority
  • France
    • National School for the Judiciary
  • Germany
    • Federal Ministry of Justice
    • Academy of European Law (ERA)
  • Greece
    • National School of the Judiciary
  • Hungary
    • National Office for the Judiciary
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Ireland
    • The Judicial Council
  • Italy
    • School for the Judiciary
    • High Council of the Judiciary
  • Latvia
    • Latvian Judicial Training Centre
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Lithuania
    • National Courts Administration
    • Office of the Prosecutor General
  • Luxembourg
    • National Council of Justice
  • Malta
    • Judicial Studies Committee
  • Netherlands
    • Training and Study Centre for the Judiciary
  • Poland
    • National School of Judiciary and Public Prosecution
  • Portugal
    • Centre for Judicial Studies
  • Romania
    • National Institute of Magistracy
  • Slovakia
    • Judicial Academy
  • Slovenia
    • Judicial Training Centre
  • Spain
    • Centre for Legal Studies
    • Judicial School
  • Sweden
    • Judicial Training Academy
    • Swedish Prosecution Authority